Comfort in knowledge 

Today was one of those days where it was challenging to identify #OneGoodThing. I found it challenging to do anything. This is part of my autoimmune pernicious anemia so it’s not like it’s unexpected. Just unpleasant, to put it mildly.

I have put my journalism background to use in researching all I can learn about this chronic illness. At times, what I learned troubled me. But lately I have found an online support group for people around the world with the same issues. (The group just hit 10k members worldwide!) It has been a great comfort to chat with others and share knowledge and challenges.

Today I learned that Vitamin B12 deficiencies are common and many are now being classified as Pernicious Anemia (pernicious means deadly, PA for short). However, the type of PA I have is due to a problem in my autoimmune system (it’s called positive antibody to Intrinsic Factor, which means my body blocks the absorption of B12), and it is apparently rare. I’ve plenty more to learn, but I’m so grateful to have found this group!

Today’s #OneGoodThing was comfort in knowledge.

Day 80 of 366.

15 thoughts on “Comfort in knowledge 

  1. Pingback: My new mantra | Nosy Parker Blog

  2. Pingback: A very good dinner | Nosy Parker Blog

  3. Pingback: Small victories | Nosy Parker Blog

  4. Pingback: Sink-fixing sweetie | Nosy Parker Blog

  5. Pingback: Relief and hope | Nosy Parker Blog

  6. Pingback: Pain relieving cuddle | Nosy Parker Blog

  7. Pingback: Back on the jab wagon | Nosy Parker Blog

  8. Pingback: Birthday at the beach | Nosy Parker Blog

  9. Pingback: Daily jabs make a difference | Nosy Parker Blog

  10. Pingback: Heels to flats: accepting limitations  | Nosy Parker Blog

  11. Pingback: Forging new habits | Nosy Parker Blog

  12. Pingback: Incredible Resources for B12 Deficiency | Nosy Parker Blog

  13. Pingback: 366 Days of #OneGoodThing | Nosy Parker Blog

  14. Pingback: Fresh artichoke hearts | Nosy Parker Blog

Comment...

