Sharing our B12 stories makes us all feel less alone

B12 memeI’ve been sick most of my life and no one knew why until I was 33 and nearly bedridden.

It’s not an easy story to share. I’ve been trying all week to work up the energy and courage to write about how I finally got diagnosed with a severe Vitamin B12 deficiency caused by Pernicious Anemia. Writing that post was my plan for this afternoon. But I was so exhausted that my body had other plans. So instead, I’ll share with you another woman’s story that’s so similar I could have written the article myself.

Earlier this summer, I read an article by Meg Hartley who was nearly paralyzed by a Vitamin B12 deficiency. The article hit so close, it was scary and gave me chills. I’ve reread it many times; often I find tears streaming down my face. Author Meg Hartley, you’re my hero. Thanks for sharing your story with the world!

Today’s #OneGoodThing is this deeply moving account of how it feels to live with a Vitamin B12 deficiency. I feel it’s crucial that we share our stories — after all, that’s how I finally learned how to best advocate for proper treatment for myself. September 19-25 is Vitamin B12 Awareness WeekStill to come this week… how I finally got my diagnosis after more than 30 years of being sick, my top 10 coping strategies, and how I learned to give myself injections despite a lifelong needle phobia.

Day 266 of 366.

B12 deficiency symptomsWhat was your #OneGoodThing today? Please share in the comments!

Note to my Nosy Parker readers: Vitamin B12 deficiency can cause a wide variety of symptoms. A Vitamin B12 deficiency can kill you and before it does, it can truly wreak havoc on your entire body. It is a serious chronic illness. If you’ve got any of the symptoms listed in this graphic, please visit the websites listed for more information. (Special thanks to a B12 buddy in the support group for making this graphic!) Ask your doctor to test your B12 level BEFORE taking any supplements on your own or you’ll skew the results! Also, I am not a doctor, nurse or scientist. I am simply sharing my personal experiences and what I’ve learned.

UPDATE: The article that I link to in this post discusses the MTHFR gene, with which I am not terribly familiar. I cannot attest to the credibility of this article or its claims, only that it touched me as I could see myself in this story, in the writer’s struggles. My B12 deficiency was caused by Autoimmune Pernicious Anemia with Positive Antibody to Intrinsic Factor.

5 thoughts on “Sharing our B12 stories makes us all feel less alone

  1. Pingback: At age 33 I learned why I’d been sick all my life | Nosy Parker Blog

  2. Pingback: My new B12 buddy | Nosy Parker Blog

  3. Pingback: Why I must continue | Nosy Parker Blog

Comment...

