A day of reflection

Yom Kippur meme wordsToday was a day of reflection. It’s also called the Day of Atonement. It’s the Jewish High Holiday of Yom Kippur, which falls 10 days after Rosh Hashana, the Jewish New Year. (Jewish holidays are based on a lunar calendar so that’s why the dates change each year.)

Our little family “attended” services that were streamed online as we didn’t feel like we could leave our sweet Abby at home given what’s been happening. She had a really rough weekend, and we were scared it was already the end. She’s perked up these last couple of days as her tiny body gets used to the anti-seizure drugs. But we are glued to her on a seizure watch and giving timed medications and eye drops. I am deeply grateful that our beloved Abby, my baby, is still with us.

Yom Kippur Pray Love Not EatI am also grateful for the various synagogues streaming their services. Thank you for understanding that, for whatever reasons, it isn’t always possible to join your community in person. Thank you for welcoming us anyway.

“To those I may have wronged, I ask for your forgiveness. For those I helped, I wish I could have done more. For the many I neglected to help, I am truly sorry. To those who helped me, I am deeply grateful.” (Thank you to whoever put these timely words into a Yom Kippur meme.)

Today’s #OneGoodThing was a meaningful Yom Kippur.

Day 286 of 366.

What was your #OneGoodThing today? Please share in the comments!

 

One thought on “A day of reflection

Comment...

