Drawing through grief

Grief drawing of AbbyI was especially missing my baby this afternoon so I turned to art. This is far from my best sketch of Abby, but it was a good way to cope with her loss.

Abby was only 11 pounds, but our home feels empty and quiet without her sweet little noises. I can’t seem to stop looking around for her. What do you do when your chief source of comfort and joy in the world is no longer here?

We’ve spent much of the weekend poring over the thousands and thousands of photos we’ve taken of Abby, choosing our favorites and sharing memories. I’ve also been on a mission to find a hot water bottle cover I can customize with a photo of Abby because we miss her warm snuggles so much. And I’ve been reading my literary hero’s new memoir, Hungry Heart.

abby memorialIt was difficult to feel interested in anything this weekend. Today’s #OneGoodThing was drawing as a tool to cope with my tremendous grief.

Day 297 of 366.

If you’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting Abby, please share your memories of her in the comments. We are loving hearing your memories and stories of her sweetness!!! And if you haven’t met this special soul in person, we hope her daily photos and adventure stories have brightened your days.

 

5 thoughts on “Drawing through grief

  1. Pingback: Our Abby calendars arrived! | Nosy Parker Blog

  2. Pingback: Mama’s drawing Abby | Nosy Parker Blog

  3. Pingback: Remembering my girl | Nosy Parker Blog

  4. Pingback: Breathe | Nosy Parker Blog

Comment...

