Life-saving medication

Vitamin B12 vials and a box of needles

Vitamin B12 vials and a box of needles

Today I picked up a life-saving medication from the pharmacy. I have been on it for the last 11 months and without it I would die.

I have Autoimmune Pernicious Anemia, which basically means I cannot absorb Vitamin B12 through my stomach and have to give myself injections of Vitamin B12 to live. It’s a chronic disease that I’ll have for the rest of my life. There’s no cure, just treatment.

Without the Affordable Care Act (also known as Obamacare), I would not have been able to get this medicine today. In fact, I couldn’t get health insurance at all. I tried and I was denied coverage due to migraine pre-existing condition.

I know there’s still plenty wrong with health care in America; we’ve got a long way to go in reforming health insurance and drug companies who are ripping off everyone. I am still very grateful for Obamacare because without it, I likely wouldn’t be alive today.

Today’s #OneGoodThing was filling my life-saving prescription. Thanks Obama! Seriously, thank you.

Day 5 of 365.

What was your #OneGoodThing today? Please share in the comments!

1 year ago today: Not just phoning it in


4 thoughts on “Life-saving medication

  1. Gabriana,
    Words aren’t enough, I’m glad you have your medication now, and I trust that Trump will have sufficient other issues to occupy his time and allow Obamacare to continue, at least for the duration of his first (and hopefully, only) term.

    Take care,

    Rob

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Stirring civic engagement  | Nosy Parker Blog

  3. Pingback: Keeping my healthcare  | Nosy Parker Blog

Comment...

