Understanding of friends

Today Mama and I were supposed to see a hilarious play about the Jewish holiday of Purim at our local synagogue. Purim is a fun holiday and we were looking forward to celebrating with our friends, one of whom was acting in the play as well as the costume and set designer.

However, I woke up with a migraine again, a not uncommon experience (and hardly surprising after overexerting myself on Thursday and Friday). Saturday alone was not rest enough apparently. But I desperately wanted to support our friend and so we went anyway. Though my heart was in the right place, this was a bad call. I had forgotten that noise-makers are loudly and raucously shaken throughout the play; and at the first sound of one, I knew I wouldn’t make it.

Sadly, we never even got to see our talented friend Bonnie (though we got to see a photo of her gorgeous costume on Facebook). We were very sad to have to tell Bonnie’s husband and mother that we couldn’t stay. Lucky for us, they’re good friends and wonderful, kind people. Plus, I even got a homemade apricot hamentashen, my favorite flavor! For my non-Jewish readers, hamentashen are triangular cookies with a filling in the center that are traditional for Purim (like in the photo).

Today’s #OneGoodThing was the understanding of friends. We eagerly await the YouTube release of the show!

Day 78 of 365.

1 year ago today: The 3 Visitors

What was your #OneGoodThing today? Please share in the comments below!

 

 

 

 

Comment...

