Recycled candles

Last year I made giant candles in mason jars and hung them from a tree in our garden as a finishing touch for a special celebration. Mama said it felt like a summer garden party out of Sunset magazine. I couldn’t have been more pleased with such a compliment!

But then I left the candles hanging in the tree months longer than I should have and they got dirty. I couldn’t bear to toss them so instead I recycled them into new candles! First I scraped out the dirt with an old popsicle stick and cleaned up the jars. Then I melted them down in a big pot of water, creating my own double boiler. I decided to experiment with coloring and added broken crayons to the melted wax before pouring it into tiny recycled jars. I hung the wicks to dry using popsicle sticks. The coloring didn’t come out quite as dark as I’d hoped; much of it pooled on the bottoms.

Today’s #OneGoodThing was creating 36 awesome little candles out of three old giant ones!

Day 99 of 365. Day 465 in a row.

1 year ago today: An app ran my errands for me

What was your #OneGoodThing today? Please share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Recycled candles

Comment...

