New friends in odd places

My new friend Michele at Kaiser Optical

Sometimes you meet a new person and you just know you’ll be friends. That happened quite unexpectedly today while I was ordering new glasses for Mama.

I was slightly apprehensive as I was bringing in Mama’s prescription and frames, but not Mama herself. She wasn’t up to the errands today. But I sat down at Michele’s desk and she was so understanding and helpful. We got on straight away, talking about our families and our lives, and, of course, our firestorm experiences.

I returned to Michele’s desk after my own eye check-up because my prescription has changed. She had to deliver the news that my insurance won’t actually cover the new prescription (because it isn’t strong enough), but she had a few great suggestions for alternatives. And, at least I got to visit with Michele again!

As a full-time caregiver, making friends isn’t as easy as it was when I was in school or working in an office. Since we moved here three years ago, we are still slowly building our community of friends.

Today’s #OneGoodThing was meeting and making plans with a new friend. Thank you for being the bright spot in my errands, Michele!

Photo credit: Amazon

Day 325 of 365. And Day 691 in a row!

1 year ago today: Adorable Boston pillow

5 years ago today: Smoothie craze hits Venice… sort of

What was your #OneGoodThing today? Please share in the comments!

 

2 replies

Comment...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.